Too Like the Lightning Advanced Release Copy

CoverHand

Rare Advanced Release Copy of Ada Palmer’s first science fiction novel, “Too Like the Lightning” book 1 of the new Tor SF series “Terra Ignota.” This ARC is a trade paperback with a unique pre-publication back. The hardcover goes on sale May 10th, so this will let you read it two months early! Tor’s description: “Ada Palmer’s unique vision mixes Enlightenment-era philosophy with traditional science fiction speculation to bring to life the year 2454, not a perfect future, but a utopian one, described by a narrator writing in an antiquated form to catalog the birth of a revolution. The result is The Iliad meets I, Claudius mixed with the enthusiasm of The Stars My Destination and Gene Wolfe style world building. Perfect for fans of Jo Walton, Robert Charles Wilson and Kim Stanley Robinson, Too Like The Lightning is a refreshing change of pace from the current trend of gritty, dystopian novels. Much like Homer telling of heroic deeds and wine dark seas, Mycroft Canner’s narration will draw you into the world of Terra Ignota—a world simmering with gender politics and religious fervor just beneath the surface, on the brink of revolutionary change. (P.S. If the bidding goes high enough, I might throw in an e-mailed PDF of book 2! )

Donated by Ada Palmer

Starting bid: $40

Team Starship

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s